Book Review: Mormon Enigma Emma Hale Smith by Linda King Newell and Valeen Tippetts Avery

I am currently reading the book: Mormon Enigma Emma Hale Smith by Linda King Newell and Valeen Tippetts Avery (see book in sidebar under recommended Amazon books).   It is engaging and interesting. Although it contains all of the typical Mormon history stories I have heard from my youth up, it also includes historical information that a lot of LDS members don’t know about. It includes information about the beginnings of polygamy in the LDS church. At the same time, I feel the book has a pro-Mormon bias which makes sense because the authors are Mormon. This book was on the approved reading list at BYU. It is a very well-researched and reads like a novel. The trials that Emma had to go through tears at my heart. I don’t think I could have handled them as well as she did. She has become one of my personal heroes and I hope that she becomes one of yours.

This entry was posted in Emma Hale Smith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

