Why Do Mormons Take It Personally When Joseph Smith is Criticized?

I really don’t understand the defensiveness of Mormons when Joseph Smith is criticized. The Mormon is not being criticized.

Why do people get huffy and angry?

I can understand people saying, “I don’t agree” or  “I’ll have to look into that myself” or “I already know about that, but I choose to believe anyway,” but the anger response is strange. You would think that people would be curious to know why the criticism or want to verify the criticism. Instead they refuse to verify it. They refuse to look into it and they just get super mad.

Strange phenomenon.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Joseph Smith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Do Mormons Take It Personally When Joseph Smith is Criticized?

  1. AdamF says:

    I think you could take out “Joseph Smith” and “Mormons” and put in another person or belief, along with another group or population, and ask the same question. In my experience, it’s often out of basic fear – fear of the unknown, fear of what may be threatening, fear of losing security or comfort – people feel threatened. Fear is huge motivator for being defensive, “taking it personally” or etc.

Leave a Reply

