Why Aren’t There Any Significant Women in the Book of Mormon?

In the books of Nephi in the Book of Mormon, Nephi mentions all of his brothers names, their  birth order and significant information about each one, but he doesn’t mention anything about his sisters, except that he had some.

You could say that Nephi’s sisters weren’t pertinent to the story and that is why they are excluded, but it seems to me that if I was writing about my spiritual history and experiences with my family I would include everyone, even if they weren’t pertinent to the story, just to show that I valued them and saw them as important. I would think that this would be a given to someone who values family and women.  The women really had nothing at all to contribute to the spiritual well-being of future generations?

Also, Nephi never mentions the name of his wife? Aren’t families and the marriage couple central to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday saints? Aren’t marriage and family bonds everything? I read this book for years without even noticing this, but then one day it occured to me that women in general seemed to be lacking in the book.

What do you think?

This entry was posted in Book of Mormon, Women's Status in LDS Church and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Aren’t There Any Significant Women in the Book of Mormon?

  1. It doesn’t seem to make a lot of sense, does it? This question bothers me, too. For most of the time, you hear about the good things about women, but it’s like they hold no significance. Even the Bible had stories about women! We deserve to have women to look to, too. But..I don’t know if it’s just because it’s all passed through the Priesthood or what. It does seem really awkward, or if it’s customary for genealogy. To me, it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense.

  2. Actually, you know, in my search, I found this: https://www.sunstonemagazine.com/pdf/101-32-40.pdf I really think you might find it a good read.

Leave a Reply

